### UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO

#### STUDENT UNION

Sponsored by:

Business School Representative

Representatives-at-Large

Tri-Executives

Erica Wilner

Debbie Austin

Jeff Stephens

Patrice Hauptman David Aragon

John Roberts

Authored by:

Safety Coordinator

Laura Larsen Linda Terry

A BILL

## **BILL HISTORY**

UCSU Executive Council and the University at large has taken a firm stand in opposing violence and harassment towards women. It has actively supported such programs at NightRide/NightWalk, the Committee on Personal Safety, The Committee on Sexual Harassment and numerous educational events on subjects like Date/Acquaintance Rape and Abusive Relationships. Facilities to improve campus safety, including the installation of emergency telephones and increased lighting have become a priority. UCSU has also provided assistance for the annual Take Back the Night Week, during which a series of public lectures, films and workshops focusing on the issuie of violence against women are given. The week culminates with the Take Back the Night March and a workshop at the Boulder Bandshell, sponsored by 100 Men for Boulder Country Safehouse.

# **BILL SUMMARY**

To allocate \$908.60 + GAR from Executive Council Reserve to cover advertising costs for Take Back the Night Week, October 6-11, 1986.

# BE IT ENACTED by the Executive Council of the University of Colorado Student Union, THAT:

SECTION 1:

UCSU shall allocate an amount not to exceed \$908.60 +GAR from Executive Council Reserve to the Feminist Alliance for Take Back the Night Week advertising.

Campus Press: 2 half-page ads @ \$151 ea.	\$ 302.00
Colorado Daily: 2 half-page ads @ \$184.80 ea.	369.60
2 5x7 ads @ \$99 ea.	198.00
Printing: 100 typeset, 1-color posters	28.00
200 flyers	11.00
TOTAL	\$ 908.60
GAR	41.80
TOTAL REQUEST	\$ 950.40

SECTION 2: This Bill takes effect upon passage.

9/11/86 - PASSES - EXECUTIVE COUNCIL - 1st READING - 12-2-1 9/19/86 - PASSES - EXECUTIVE COUNCIL - 2nd READING - 12-4-0

# 25 EXECUTIVE COUNCIL BILL #11 - Page 2

President Pro-Tempore Executive Council

David Aragon Tri-Executive

John Roberts Tri-Executive

Patrice Hauptman Tri-Executive