27 EXECUTIVE COUNCIL BILL #30

UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO

STUDENT UNION

Sponsored by:

Representatives-at-Large

Adam Kaplin

Drew Bolin Kelley Ryan

Music Representative

Engineering Representative

Tri-Executives

Daryl Silberman Rod Fernandez

Elizabeth Burpee

Perry Dino Eddie W. Pacheco

Authored by:

UCSU Book Center Task Force

Kevin Jon Heller

Kristin O'Leske Drew Bolin

A BILL

BILL HISTORY

Since 1968, the University of Colorado Student Union has sought to make the University Book Center more responsive to student interests. That year, the Board of Regents established 4 criteria that if reached would allow the students to form an independent Bookstore Cooperative. While the students failed to meet the criteria in 1968, the goal of student empowerment continued.

The UCSU Book Center Task Force, appointed by the Tri-Executives, has been working with Administration since December to 1.) identify the problems of lack of student imput and inefficiency in Book Center operations and 2.) establish that these problems cannot be resolved within the existing structure of the bookstore. At this stage, it is crucial that students prove their support for an alternative Bookstore structure and to this end, we submit this referendum for the Fall 1987 ballot.

BILL SUMMARY

A student referendum asking the students to declare their support of a student owned and operated bookstore cooperative, independent of the University.

BE IT ENACTED by the Executive Council of the University of Colorado Student Union THAT:

SECTION 1:

Do you support a student owned and operated bookstore cooperative, independent of the University, in place of the

current University Book Center which would: a) promote student decision making;

b) increase efficiency;

c) and return profits directly to the students in the

form of rebates or lower book prices.

SECTION 2:

Upon passage, the Election Commissioner shall place this

referendum question on the Fall 1987 ballot.

27 EXECUTIVE COUNCIL BILL #30 - Page 2

Jeffrey D. Stephens President Pro-Tempore Executive Council

Perry Dino UCSU Executive

Elizabeth Burpee UCSU Executive

Eddie W. Pacheco UCSU Executive