8 November 2010

University of Colorado Student Government

Sponsored by: Carly Robinson Chair of Representative Council

Punam Chatterjee Chair of Distinguished Speakers Board

Will Krebs President of Legislative Council

Authored by: Carly Robinson Chair of Representative Council

A Bill to Redefine the Structure of the Distinguished Speakers Board

Bill History

Currently the membership on the Distinguished Speaker Board should consist of "... six voting members. One (1) executive appointment, one (1) legislative appointment, one (1) community member, and three (3) students at large, and one UMC staff member appointed by the UMC Director to serve as an ex officio member... In addition, one member from CEB and one member from Program Council shall be included on the board as ex officio." as stated in 58th Legislative Council Bill #7 Dist Speakers (58LCB07), the bill that created the Distinguished Speakers Board. For years this has not been the actual composition of the board. After discussion with the chair of Distinguished Speakers Board and their UMC staff member, it was realized that the membership of this board is severely out of date and needs to be changed for their current and future needs.

Bill Summary

This bill seeks to amend 58LCB07 Section 2: Composition. This will change the membership of the board, including changes to the voting and ex-officio membership.

THEREFORE, BE IT ENACTED by Legislative Council of the University of Colorado Student Government, THAT:

Section 1: This bill repeals and nullifies 58LCB07 Section 2: Composition which states: "**Section 2: Composition.** The Distinguished Speakers Board shall be composed of six voting members. One (1) executive appointment, one (1) legislative appointment, one (1) community member, and three (3) students at large, and one UMC staff member appointed by the UMC Director to serve as an ex officio member. The student at large members will be selected by the Distinguished Speakers Board and ratified by a majority vote of Legislative Council. In addition, one member from CEB and one member from

Program Council shall be included on the board as ex officio. These members shall serve as liaisons between each of the three boards, ensuring that communication exists therein. At the initial stage, or at any other point the board cannot reach quorum, an additional Executive appointment and an additional Legislative appointment will be used to fill the board until quorum can be reached."

Section 2: This bill appends a new Section 2: Composition to 58LCB07, which states: "Section 2: Composition. The Distinguished Speakers Board shall be composed of ten (10) voting members. The ten (10) voting members shall all be students-at-large. The student-at-large members will be selected by the Distinguished Speakers Board and ratified by a majority vote of Legislative Council. There shall be five (5) ex-officio board members including one (1) executive appointment, one (1) legislative appointment, one (1) University Memorial Center staff member from the office that has a primary goal of student development and involvement appointed by the director of the UMC, one (1) member from Cultural Events Board, and one (1) member from Program Council. The members from Cultural Events Board and Program Council shall serve as liaisons between each of the three boards, ensuring that communication exists therein.

Section 3: This bill shall become effective upon final passage of by the Legislative Council and either obtaining the signatures of the CUSG Legislative Council President and Executives.

11/04/2010 11/18/2010	Vote Count Passed on 1 st reading Amended and passed on 2 nd reading	14-0-0 Acclamation
William Taylor President	Will Krebs Legislative Council President	dent
Peter Swanson Vice President	Allison Foley Vice President	